Hazelnut butter fail

For the past week I’ve had my parents here with me and it was so busy that I had no time to even go online. The time was filled with nice and not always healthy  food, but also lots and lots of walking, thanks to which I didn’t gain any weight 😉

Some time ago I saw Heather’s post about making your own peanut butter and it made me think – when I eat my nuts, the hazelnuts are always left untouched, so why not make a hazelnut butter!

So I took a bunch of hazelnuts and put them in my blender. I turned it on. And off. And on. And off. It started smelling, as if the engine got hot… and the hazelnuts were still not shredded.

… so I took my little crappy mortar and pestle and tried to make the nuts smaller, so that the blender has it easier…

… back in the blender, and the nuts were getting shredded a bit, but the whole thing would get stuck to the walls after a few seconds and there was nothing to shred then…

… so I added a little bit honey, put the shreds in a plastic container and decided to use it in some other way.

After a few days I suddenly felt like making a little parfait and the shredded hazelnuts were a perfect topping!

I have no idea what I did wrong – either my blender isn’t strong enough, or I wasn’t pushing it hard enough (I was afraid it would explode!), or maybe hazelnuts aren’t as easy to blend as peanuts? All in all, it ended well, except… I have no self-made hazelnut butter 😦

Any ideas/advice?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kissmybroccoli
    May 01, 2011 @ 17:21:44

    Aww, good try though! I’ve been wanting to make some hazelnut butter (I have them, I’ve just been too lazy! Haha!)

    I think hazelnuts are kind of like almonds…a bit harder to make into smooth nut butter, but maybe if you tried soaking them for a couple of hours, your blender could take on the task? It’s worth a try, especially when you don’t own a food processor!

    Reply

    • Ania
      May 02, 2011 @ 09:04:29

      that’s a great idea, thanks Heather! I still have some hazelnuts left (of course!), so I will try and soak them. and eventually i’ll have to buy a food processor, just not now because.. I have no space for it 😛

      Reply

  2. Kayla
    May 03, 2011 @ 05:23:14

    I wouldn’t soak them, actually! It would just make hazelnut paste…eew. I think probably your blender isn’t strong enough! That stinks, though, and the hazelnut butter sounds like such a delicious idea!

    Reply

    • Ania
      May 03, 2011 @ 11:02:16

      I think I’ll try soaking them anyway, I have sooo many of them that I can definitely sacrifice a bit to see if it works! Otherwise they’ll just be sitting there in the tin alone, because nobody wants to eat them 😛 But you’re right, it might be that my blender just sucks 😛 Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

  3. Anastasia
    May 03, 2011 @ 19:31:23

    It looks wonderful on the parfait! At least the hazelnuts got used for something and all that hard work didn’t go to waste :]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

