My Food Obsessions

Whoa, I am so tired! I spent the whole day walking around Amsterdam with my sister and kids she babysits and at the end of the day I got a bad headache. I guess Amsterdam doesn’t have the best influence on me (or maybe it’s just me reacting like that to a city I don’t really like)… But it was fun!

Somewhere on the way we stumbled upon this shop ALDI and I had been wanting to go there and stock up on some nuts, because I heard they have them pretty cheap there. I was so excited when I saw that they have nuts from Trader Joe’s! I remember seeing the name of this shop in a couple of posts of American bloggers and thinking that I wish I had a shop like this 🙂 Apparently, the guy who co-owned Trader Joe’s was also the owner of ALDI, so they sell a few products in Europe now – mainly nuts, peanut butter and maple syrup. I got so excited about the nuts that I didn’t even look around for more products, but definitely will in the future!

What I got:

Best part: they’re all unsalted and there are absolutely no peanuts, which I don’t like. There are cashews, almonds, walnuts, Brazil nuts, hazelnuts (also not my favorite),  cranberries and raisins. They all landed in a biiiig tin box and will be taken care of by yours truly 😉

You know what else makes me happy? This:

A bowl full of fruit! I seriously could not live without fruit!

Other things I will never pass up:

Garden cress! So so so good that I put it on basically everything. I love how peppery, mustardy it is, it adds a nice flavor to my salads and sandwiches!

Couscous! Okay, I mostly love it because it’s so fast to make 😛 But I also like how well it goes with vegetables and just about anything else.

Last but not least: goat cheese! I’ll eat any kind of goat cheese really, but this is my favorite: soft one with added honey. My favorite mix is goat cheese, rucola, honey and walnuts (or pine nuts)!

What is your favorite food right now?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anastasia
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 12:27:50

    Ooh, nice find on the TJ’s nuts! I don’t like peanuts or hazelnuts either, but cashews.. that’s a different story! :]

    Your fruit bowl is so full and colorful! It’s nice to have a lot of fruit so you can just grab it and go if you’re in a hurry.

    My favorite food & drinks right now are english muffins, apples, coconut water and unsweetened almond milk.

    Reply

  2. Ania
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 23:25:02

    cashews are definitely my number one nuts! i have to watch out with eating nuts because of my weak (and full of fillings) teeth, so cashews are the best solution, plus they are the tastiest as far as i’m concerned!

    english muffin – i’ve never heard this term before. i googled it and it looked a bit like english scones that they eat with high tea. maybe i’ll find some while in London in June!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Colors, nuts and saved yoga mats « Going Bananas Over Food

Leave a Reply

