Bananas over banana bread!

I have no idea how it happened, but we went to sleep at 4am last night. There are weekend nights like that sometimes, when we just hang out in front of our laptops, listen or play music until we drop. I like them!

My breakfast was so yummy today! Thanks to Anastasia I discovered overnight oats – so good and filling! I make mine with normal milk and 0% fat vanilla yoghurt, but I’m going to try coconut milk next time. I’m dreaming of almond milk, but I can’t find any here for the life of me :/ Today’s oats were spiced up with cinnamon – now, I am not a big fan of cinnamon and when I put it in my bowl yesterday night I started regretting it right away, but in the morning it was really good somehow 😛 I topped the oats with frozen fruit and fresh banana, mmm…

Then we met up with Christiaan’s mom and went to a fabric market. Too bad I didn’t take my camera, there were so many cute colorful fabrics for only €3 per meter! Hard to believe (especially to someone who knows how obsessed I am with scrapbooking/sewing), but I didn’t buy anything! But the market travels from city to city and I will definitely catch it sometime later.

After a day well spent outside I had so much energy, that I started cleaning the kitchen.  And hoovered the whole house. And then baked banana bread.

(gah, I truly suck at taking pictures at night)

Banana bread

3 ripe bananas (I used two and it was fine)

2 eggs

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar (I used cane sugar)

1 teaspoon baking soda

a little bit of salt

nuts ( I used almonds)

Mash bananas and eggs together. Add the rest of ingredients and mix them together. Bake at 175 C (347 F) for about an hour (mine was done after 35 minutes, but my over is crazy fast).

Chris loves banana bread and he got so excited about it, that this is what’s left of it after 5 hours:

I only had a couple of pieces – so good! But I still prefer muffins 😉

When it came to making dinner, I was still pretty inspired and energetic, so I decided to make  something with the  risotto/paella rice that’s been sitting in my cupboard forever. I remember how my ex boyfriend fried this rice and then cooked it until it would get all mushy, but I couldn’t remember or find the proportions. Well, I just did whatever I thought was right and it took me about an hour to get this freaking rice to be relatively soft. Still not perfect.

Pwetty! So we have the non-perfect rice with oregano and basil, a vegetable burger (I love meat substitutes!) and a colorful load of raw veggies.

Actually, I just figured out today that my view on vegetables has changed dramatically in the past months. I was never really a veggie person, but now I CRAVE them! Good for me I guess?

Time to go to sleep! Goodnight!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anastasia
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 00:59:13

    I immediately went to make your banana bread recipe the minute I saw it! I made mine into muffins though.. they are sooo good!

    Aren’t overnight oats amazing? It’s seriously the best breakfast ever.

    Reply

  2. Ania
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 22:52:19

    Oh cool, sometimes I make muffins out of it too, although I have a muuuch better recipe for muffins than that! But yeah, trying not to make any right now cause I would eat all of them at once!

    Overnight oats are my new loooove, I’m going to make some for tomorrow morning now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

